174/177 supercharged small block, where to start?

-

mopardude318

Reaction score
Hello. I would like to obtain parts to supercharge my 318...I posted a wanted ad for this type of blower...My brother has a small block chevy setup but will not sell me the one he has stored for years, so it will just sit under his bench...Bummer...

A few things maybe you guys can help me...

-I am new to the forced induction world...Completely new..lol and I have "The Do-it-yourself guide to Street supercharging" book I have been reading.

I *think* I would like to stay with the smaller superchargers like the B&M and Weiand 174/177 units. From my understanding those are a little more user friendly for the beginner, as apposed to the more involved multi carbed, more boost capable 6-71 units. I don't want to go crazy, just 6 or 7 PSI of boost to my Naturally Aspirated 300HP 318...

What are your guy's thoughts? Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Looking forward to getting....boosted....lol

something like this.

blownsmallblock.jpg

Supercharged360.jpg

Hot Rod's Pat Ganahl,did a test of all these little blowers in 1984.Landry had a kit,was eventually discontinued.Hard to find,big bucks.Check out the Mod Man manifold for mounting,top end wise.A typical mild small block build ,would bring 80 to 125 hp wise@5 to 7 lbs boost.The fun is the insane torque curve,while being streetable.On Landry,meant Landy ,by the way

Try Dwyers or BDS for help in parts.

I honestly didn't know they still made them things. Were always cool back in the day.
Posting up pics when you get going on it?

The Blower Shop, has a complete 174 kit for a bb chevy listed under their used section for 1500. They are 5 hours from you. Buy it without the manifold or with the manifold and sell the manifold on Ebag.
They might be able to make an adaptor plate for the Mod Man Manifold and adapt the chevy crank pulley to mate up to a Mopar.