5.7 crank end-play

-

b5cuda

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I've started assembly on a 2013 5.7 and ran into a question on crank end-play. The crank spins freely after tightening down the main caps and cross bolts, but when I measure the end play there is only .001-2 movement. From what I’ve read, there should be more like .006-7, especially with a manual trans. This is my first attempt at building an engine so I don’t know what I don’t know. How can I gain more end-play? Grateful for any light you can shed.

Hi everyone,
I've started assembly on a 2013 5.7 and ran into a question on crank end-play. The crank spins freely after tightening down the main caps and cross bolts, but when I measure the end play there is only .001-2 movement. From what I’ve read, there should be more like .006-7, especially with a manual trans. This is my first attempt at building an engine so I don’t know what I don’t know. How can I gain more end-play? Grateful for any light you can shed.

Have you loosened the thrust main cap and forced the crank back and then forward so it sets the upper and lower bearing halves?
Just a thought.

Haven't tried that. Would that throw off the torque settings if I just loosen the center main cap?

Loosen the mains and torque them back up to 15 ftlbs. Use a dead blow hammer and tap the crank nose rearward and then the crank flange forward. Now torque the mains to specification. 65'

Thanks for the replies! I can try that. Next question is the TTY bolts; they're not supposed to be tightened more than once - so don't I need to replace them all if I loosen them? And if I swap in new TTY bolts, how do I prevent the same situation from happening again? I thought about the ARP main stud kit to get rid of TTY bolts (evidently ARP doesn't make the bolts, just studs), but that would require another trip to machine shop to remeasure cylinder walls, etc.