A903 No Neutral

-

Taebombo

Reaction score
First things first, I'll just come out and say that I am not a SUPER mechanical person. I know basic car mechanics, and these old cars confuse me to no end. So I will probably be asking stupid questions, or things that most people should know. Be patient with me please, I'm learning. :p

Alright, so I've got a strange occurrence with my '65 Barracuda that I cannot seem to figure out. I've picked brains of a few people, and still no one that I've spoken to knows anything about my issue. I'm too impatient to wait until my handy dandy transmission shop opens on Monday, so here I am.
I finally got her running, the entire brake system is torn apart due to me preparing to change everything from the master cylinder back, all fluids changed except diff. I figured now is an okay time to check the gears all work, being the car is off the ground on stands.
So here is the problem, I cannot get the car into Neutral.
She goes through all gears fine, clutch is working as it should to my knowledge. Yes, there is wobble in the shifter, but it didn't seem like too much being as old as she is. I had my father telling me when the axles were spinning, however the brake cable runs across the driveline with the rear axle dropped so I could hear it when it moved (is that a normal place on these cars?).
I cannot start the car and get out, due to me not being able to find Neutral. When I have the clutch in, no movement at all. I let the clutch out in what SHOULD be Neutral, and it spins the axles. I changed the oil in the transmission, thinking it was maybe just low or old oil, and it did nothing to help the situation. I tried shaking the linkage to see if there was a ton of play, it moves a little, but I've had worse play on my Toyota. I still cannot seem to find the issue.
Please, someone give me ideas where to start on what the issue might be. Thanks in advance!

Did you try the brakes while it was idling in neutral?