Abrasive blasting media

-

artie727

Reaction score
Bought a 90# sand blaster today from Harbor Freight and they do not carry sand. The salesman told me to use play box sand. Well it didn't work at all. It seems like it compacts to much and has a lot of rocks and debris in it.
Bottom line is what type of sand do I need to buy?

Thanks in advance,
Artie Perilloux

From what I know "sand" is not really the preferred "sandblasting" media. I use glass bead for the blasting cabinet but you can other use alternatives like walnut shells or soda blasting. The soda is good because you can just wash it off (I think). I think that in some cases sand can actually heat and warp sheet metal. Disclaimer: I'm not an expert.

The sand was inside of the local Home Depot but who knows where it's been. What I really need to know is where to buy what I need.

Thanks,
Artie

Sandbox sand is the worst thing you can put in your blaster. It's too soft (won't cut), has too much other crap in it, and it can give you deadly silicosis. Avoid it like the plague!

I'm going out on a limb here to say I probably do more blasting on a weekly basis than 90% of the FABO membership combined. For my powder coating purposes, aluminum oxide is good (but expensive) and glass beads and walnut shells leave too soft of a finish. I use Black Beauty black slag in a fine grit almost exclusively. It cuts extremely fast, costs $16.50 for a 100 lb. bag around here, and lasts at least four times as long as a similar sized bag of blasting sand.

Though I've never used it myself, there's a couple guys on the board who have soda blasting businesses; I don't recall their user names offhand but one is very well versed and the other just got into it. Do a term search for "soda blast" and you should see a recent thread about that very thing.