And so it begins,,,,,, 5-speed Duster swap!

-

darndart

Reaction score
5-speed swap! I’ve been gathering parts, and doing research for quite a few years and I decided it’s time to pull a trigger and get it done. Car is a 72 Duster 340 clone. It’s got a pretty healthy 340 backed with a 4-speed & 3.91 gears. I love the 3.91’s but not at highway speed! I picked up a new in the box Tremec 3550 5-speed many years ago. A few years ago I picked up a Lakewood conversion bellhousing. A 18 spline Hemi throw out bearing fits the Tremec perfectly. A Magnum pilot bearing machined out to press in a Mustang T5 pilot bearing. Along with a Mustang 10.5” clutch disc. And a Hurst patch panel to cover up the floor surgery. I just got started today and will update as I go.

IMG_3373.jpeg

IMG_3374.jpeg

IMG_3387.png

IMG_3389.jpeg

IMG_3390.jpeg

IMG_3392.jpeg

IMG_3393.jpeg

IMG_3344.png

Nice, I’ll follow along. I have a T56 to “cut in” to my dart in the near future.

Looks familiar. I have the Hurst (now Holley) kit, that sheet metal cover isn't all that great. It work but needs tweaking. I too went from a 4 speed car to a Tremec. My stock drive shaft fit without modification.

Be sure to index the bell housing to the crank. Tremec's do not like a lot of error.
Make sure the mounting face is square to the block too. All the bellhousing swaps I've done required shims to square the face AND dowels to center the centerline's of the parts.

Shims.JPG

GoogleMaps says you're about 3.5 hours from me;
jus saying that's a short tow.

Nicely outfitted shop, with a 4-poster, and a tire-machine even!
I'm a lil jealous.
Not really, lol; I'm 71 and not much interested in working any more.
All the best to you.

GoogleMaps says you're about 3.5 hours from me;
jus saying that's a short tow.

Nicely outfitted shop, with a 4-poster, and a tire-machine even!
I'm a lil jealous.
Not really, lol; I'm 71 and not much interested in working any more.
All the best to you.