any bracing involved when removing front rails?

-

67cudaResto89

Reaction score
So I have to replace both my front frame rails due to rot. I was going to do one side at a time now when I go to remove these rails do I have to brace the body to keep it from twisting or anything like that?

When i did mine i just supported it with jack stands at the front of the rockers and left the k member in with a floor jack under it. Removed one at a time and bolted the k member back in place and lined up where the old one was. Then welded it in place. Since then I have pulled the old k frame and replace it with the alter k and had no issues bolting it right in.

I'm assuming you used spot weld cutters to cut it out? I've never done this before so I'm kinda nervous about it.

I know the feeling I was nervous also as it was my first time and worried i would screw something up. Use spot weld cutters as long as they are not on the edge of the rail. When they are on the edge they will catch and break so i used a drill bit on those. As long as you can weld you will be fine just take your time and don't rush it.

I would weld in an X brace to keep everything straight before I removed those rails. Welding and wrenching can twist things out of shape.

Maybe from the rad support to the cowl...about half way down.

I saw firsthand what happens on a mustang when you dont brace things....can you say DOG LEG?

Mop

well i started drilling the spot welds out. got most of them out but the front on the rad support is being a pain so i called it quits for tonight. i used your idea of keeping the k member bolted in with a floor jack underneath everything seems to be steady so i'm gonna continue with it tomorrow. thanks for the info!