Cam install

-

65MagnumFish

65MagnumFish
Reaction score
Hello,
I just purchased a Hughes SER1418 ALN-10 cam. I am new to doing a cam install and really wanted to do it myself so I can learn. I understand that I can line up the dots on the crank shaft and cam shaft for install. I also know that I can purchase a cam installation kit that checks intake and exhaust with a timing wheel and other tools. One friend says to not over complicate things and line up the dots, another says it is a must to use the installation tool? Both ideas seem reasonable and obviously one seems quicker and simpler. Just didn't want to go "overkill". Figured I would ask the experts. Thanks for everyone's help.

Using a degree wheel is nice, but not necessarily a must use. I installed my cam dot to dot and have had no issues..

You will never know if your cam is timed properly unless you degree it. You could get lucky and everything ends up being machined perfectly and the cam goes in right where the grinder intended it, but too many times one of the many variables is not perfect and the cam ends up 2 or 3 degrees from where it should be. A cam installation is done correctly when it is degreed. Yes you can just line up the dots but it will always be a guess as to if it’s correct or not.

Just make sure you use the right dots. I bought a timing set with multiple key ways and used the zero option as the dot and had my cam about 45 degrees off. Made a mess of my intake valves.

My point is, a degree wheel would have caught my mistake, and there were some that said that is exactly why they do it. Never know when something was manufactured wrong. In the end, it was my own mistake to which I did fess up to. But my mistake or someone's manufacturing mistake, either way, a degree wheel would have saved the day.

Learn to use a degree wheel and you'll never need to install any other way. Do it right.