Carb help

-

Vandal

Reaction score
A little back story- so I bought a 1970 Dodge Dart in April, it was all stock from my understanding and I had the engine rebuilt, I started Installing everything and when I finally turned the car on it seemed to be very very accelerated, when I pushed this towards the manifold( see picture -what I have my thumb on) It basically slows the revienta Nd then turns off, once released gas flows and again it seems like someone is just flooring it. Can it just be my carb needs a renewal ? Can it be something else like I didn’t put my car back together correct ? And can anyone help identify what carb I have( I’m very new to old cars) I did some digging In pretty sure I have a Holley 1920 carb but I want to know what kind of kit would work to rebuild it. All the numbers I found are in the 2 last pictures

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Do you have the throttle spring hooked up? Also make sure the butterflies are closed shut at idle just a little opening with the idle screw. Also maybe the choke cam is not allowing the throttle blades to close.

That's the throttle lever!
Throttle cable should be attached to it.
A spring assists in assuring it closes.
upload_2020-7-2_18-36-27.png

After start up, the choke position lis linked to the fast idle cam.,
It should be adjusted to run at 1600 rpm at fast idle (see the shop manual)
When the choke is open, kick the throttle and the fast idle cam will rotate to let the throttle rest on the idle adjustment screw.
Adjust that for 650 or 700 rpm, whatever the shop manual says.
Check timing, readjust fast idle and timing as needed to get into spec. Then trim fuel (turn the mix screw in until rpm drops, then turn it back out). Your '71 was originally spec'd to run leaner idle (14.2:1) to reduce CO and HC but without a CO tester, just get it to run nice.