Confidence

-

73hcode

Reaction score
This thread is more for the casual mechanic I guess but what project on your car scares you to death. Mine was the wiper linkage but I finally said let's do this and boom I figured it all out and I was wondering if anyone else was nervous about their projects.

There was an old Adage/ Commercial... Confidence is very sexy , don't you think so ??

Paint is about the only thing that makes me nervous since I don't have a lot of experience with spraying it.
Engines, transmissions, rear ends, alignments, electrical, body work fine, but paint uhh.:D

This thread has the potential to be an exercise in bragging as much as self awareness.
I can do many things but not everything is done perfectly. I am a decent body and paint guy but I take far too long to make money at it. I am a decent engine builder as long as I am following a schematic. I've never rebuilt an automatic trans but I have replaced several internal parts and had the great luck to have it actually work afterwards. I can weld but I also need a grinder nearby to "tune up" my irregular welds. I'm best at mechanical stuff: Brakes, steering and suspension.
I am getting better with electrical systems. My soldering skills are improving. I have yet to tackle heating and A/C systems. I've never had an A body that needed a heater box repair but my 70 Charger does. The space is cramped in there and I'm not looking forward to that job at all.

Finding the right guy for the things I can't do myself.
For me chrome plating and engine machining is the problem in my area. Its expensive to buy good help.

Spring relocation, i have the us car tool kit and I'm deadly afraid of cutting into the frame and having something be off!

Actually welding the quarters on. I have had them cut and screwed in place for a couple of years. Cannot get the gut up to start tacking in place. I think if i could get past this then it may be smooth sailing from there.