Distributor rotor and cap

-

Dan the man

Reaction score
Does anyone know if there is a distributor rotor that has a longer tip? I was told that echlin rotors for the sbm has a 0.60" longer tip than a stock rotor.The factory increased the gap between the rotor and cap for emission reason is what I was told. I'm wanting to be able to run a higher voltage coil and control box so I can open up the plug gap from 0.035" to 0.055". Is it true that a wider plug gap helps the air / fuel mixture to burn better. I'm open to anyone's advice and or experience as I'm new to the improving the ignition system. Also is mopars orange box a good idea

Yes, no, maybe. Their was, and I doubt you will find one.......they are not produced currently.
Should I even worry about the gap between the rotor and cap, is it even that important since I'm not building a high performance engine?

Well if you wade through some of all that, there ARE issues with less than perfectly made caps (and I assume worn or otherwise less than perfect shaft play/ shaft runout) with the rotor hitting the cap, ------because it is longer

I would not worry about it. You can tell just by looking, look for carbon tracking and other damage an debri inside the cap and around the rotor.

Well if you wade through some of all that, there ARE issues with less than perfectly made caps (and I assume worn or otherwise less than perfect shaft play/ shaft runout) with the rotor hitting the cap, ------because it is longer

I would not worry about it. You can tell just by looking, look for carbon tracking and other damage an debri inside the cap and around the rotor.
Thanks. Are those distributor shaft thrust bushings worth using? I understand that with the bushing installed on the distributor shaft that you put a 0.010" feeler gauge between the bushing and oil pump drive and tighten down the screw and your done

I have extended the rotor tip by soldering a length of copper wire to it. Didn't notice any performance difference.