Driveway Cam Swap 273 Commando, pics and video

-

trebor75

Reaction score
With help from this forum I prepared to swap out the hydraulic cam the previous owner had put in my 1965 273 commando. I thought I might share some photos from installing and a video from breaking it in.

I wanted to go back to mechanical and put something wilder in there at the same time. This 1970 Duster was a slant six car when I bought it with a 7.25 rear. It's my first project ever. This is the combo right now

273 Commando - 1965
Cam: Comp Cams Magnum 282S - 282/282 Lift 495/495 - Beehive springs
Edelbrock D4B intake / Edelbrock 600 Performer Carb
Pertronix Ignitor & Flame Thrower coil
Hooker Headers
2.5" Dual Exhaust / Super 44 Flowmaster
8 3/4 - 3.55 - SureGrip
727 auto / Shift Kit
10" 4000 stall TCI converter
B&M Quicksilver Shifter

My back is sore from doing this with engine in car. The worst part was swapping the springs without removing the heads.

I am very pleased with how this turned out. It's a big improvement in every department. More bottom end, better response, way more midrange and rpm. The converter works really good with this setup compared to previous. It was expensive, I live in Sweden so all the parts has to be shipped, I got sun burned, my back aches. But I got great help from my friend and it was a lot of fun too :)

Video (the smoke is me smoking a cigarette behind the camera to calm my nerves) [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVShmDJt4oI&feature=youtu.be"]Driveway Cam Swap - Plymouth Duster 273 Commando - YouTube[/ame]

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    176 KB · Views: 481
  • 2.jpg
    83.5 KB · Views: 1,150
  • 3.jpg
    80.4 KB · Views: 469
  • 4.jpg
    75.3 KB · Views: 467
More pics

Attachments

• 5.jpg
    91.6 KB · Views: 489
  • 6.jpg
    80.8 KB · Views: 487
The 282S is a whopper john for a 273. I bet it sounds nasty at idle. Lets hear it.

Very cool! Dad n I did the same in his 67 cuda, except stock 4bbl intake and 268S(I think)