Head gasket question

-

B3422w5

Reaction score
Have a forged flattop shortblock 340 +40( 418)
Pistons stick about 5 out of the hole.
Would an 039 be safe to run, or not enough room
Trying to not spring for cometics if i dont have to, and havent seen any others that are thicker than the 1008’s

Have you checked your piston to valve clearance yet. That would be the first thing I would do to tell "if" the 1008 gaskets will work.

cometic gaskets will give you both gasket thickness you need and a piece of mind. I would think your compression ratio is quite High another good reason to go with a steel shim style gasket. I have been using cometic gaskets for about 7 years now without one failure. I will never go back to Conventional gaskets. Yes they're expensive but what is your time worth pulling the top end of your motor apart and replacing gaskets

You're going to run a closed chamber head IIRC? I've known of guys that have ran closer than .034" piston to head clearance without issues and I wouldn't be afraid to try it with steel rods. As you well know check the piston to valve clearance. :thumbsup:

I'm thinking the original Fel Pro blue gasket was around .052-.054" compressed.

You're going to run a closed chamber head IIRC? I've known of guys that have ran closer than .034" piston to head clearance without issues and I wouldn't be afraid to try it with steel rods. As you well know check the piston to valve clearance. :thumbsup:

I'm thinking the original Fel Pro blue gasket was around .052-.054" compressed.

justin, are you talking the blue felpro 1008. Isnt it 039 compressed, or is there another one

Fel pro 8553... If you buy the Edelbrock recommended gasket it's a felpro 8553 with Edelbrock packaging and you can pay almost twice as much....
Last I heard cometic was 8 to 10 weeks behind....

Last time I measured a compressed blue Fel-Pro gasket I believe it came in a little over 00.40