Hey Turbo Guys

-

mbaird

mbaird
Reaction score
So I have a 78 Dodge C-Class motor home with a 440 that I would like to modify for better performance at some point. At first I thought stroker but now I am entertaining turbo with low boost .
And since there is so much room under the chassis behind the engine I figure going with 2 small turbos mounted directly to header collectors would be the ticket .

Question is ....which turbos to use ? How big ? Are there low buck ones ? How cheap could I do this and still be reliable ? What are the challenges to this.?

I have zero experience with turbos.

Thanks

two at the collectors is a great idea when there is not alot of throttle response needed. I imagine an RV spooling up would be like my Isuzu NPR 5 ton truck, a turbo diesel itself. Are you going to blow through or draw through? Draw through is alot easier, not as hard to manage and doesnt require a special carb, but the location of the turbos makes that a poor choice unless you can mount the turbos closer, ie on upswept manifolds next to the motor like a turbo firebird or other Banks turbo setups. So I guess your going to blow through. Look at "Hanger18 carb mods" to make a Holley a blow through or buy one already set up. My friends kid has a corvette that is going to get turbos behind the rear axle! Its EFI so its almost a bolt on kit with nothing but air going all the way back up to the intake.

I planned on a blow thru. Never considered a draw thru.... Seems like a long ways to keep fuel atomized . I am not concerned about lag in this application. Min fact a bit of lag will help things survive a bit longer.

How big of turbos will I need ? Can I use the fuel pressure port to feed them ?
My Kevko pan on my 408 has side plugs.... I could run one those and use those ports for return lines.