I'm putzing around in the garage..

-

RSie

Idiot In Training
Reaction score
And my neighbor walks in.. 'Hey, I broke that Craftsman 1/4 ratchet you let me borrow the other day... sorry, and I'll buy ya a new one".
... "I have mine...used it today.." and grabbed it and spun it around with the socket.
.."huh.. musta been one I had... never mind then!"... as he's walking out the garage... "dumbass! Ya coulda got a new one!"
:)

Mine seems to do just fine. Been using it for 10 years or so.

I have gone through half a dozen in the past ten years. Half the time they spin without the gears engaging, drives me nuts.

I have the same 3/8 flex head ratchet and 1/4" flex head ratchet i bought new when i started working at a Chrysler Plymouth dealer at age 18. That was 1986. I work as an aviation mtx technician now. I still use these same two tools daily 5 days a week. They have never broken requiring any repairs in the 33 years i have had them. I periodically unscrew the cover plates, and remove the square drive parts to clean them and apply a couple drops of 30 wt motor oil. I would say i have gotten more than my moneys worth out of them in 33 years. Stick with what you think works. I know these work. I have 33 years of hard use out of them with NO issues. Plus the gear drive on them is so close you can ratchet up bolts in tighter areas with less swing than you can with other ratchets.

Last edited:
Contact mac tools customer service online. They can send you the parts and instruction sheet for your model number. Usually for free.

Ook.. I didn't mean for this post to turn into a 'my tools are better than your tools!' post.
Whatever works for you, works for you.
Was just a fun post about banter between me and a friend of mine... and, I should have told him 'that was a ratchet my dad gave to me! It's irreplaceable! ' but I didn't think that fast. :)