Into the weeds engine design for fuel efficiency discussion.

-
Personnally I am not a fan of the Pentaturd. Took one look when they first came out and I was a mechanic at a Dodge Jeep dealer, and decided I did not like it. Your results may differ, and that is OK. The old faithful 318/360 are readily available, so they are relatively inexpensive. Real easy to work on, while the Pentaturd with its DOHC and VVT can be a nightmare. The wiring would be a PITA.

I agree on the PITA on maintenance of the 3.6. I am approaching 75k and will be changing plugs soon. I will be checking the rockers as well while that far into it.

I have that engine in my 300 and combined with the 8spd I love it. Don't know that it would be up to towing duty though.

I have thought that the 3.6 8spd combo in an A body should be capable of knocking down 30mpg though.
If you could divorce the Body computer from the engine management computer then just use the whole engine wiring harness in a A body.

Way too much work for me.

If you could divorce the Body computer from the engine management computer then just use the whole engine wiring harness in a A body.

Way too much work for me.
I agree. Idea that won't happen by my hands. Already a dozen or so projects on the list.

Where is the dividing line between total build for max efficiency or just freshen up a good combo and pay a bit more in gas?

Adding a Gear Vendors OD will set you back about $2500. How long will the better gas mileage take to break even of the unit costs and having the driveshaft shortened?

I mean, take my 78 LRT. If I needed it to tow a small trailer a lot then I'd maybe put a complete 2000's two wheel drive Dodge 1500's wiring, 5.9 Magnum engine and A518 trans in it then tweek it with a "HP Tuner".

Where is the dividing line between total build for max efficiency or just freshen up a good combo and pay a bit more in gas?