Mechanical fuel pump on a roller cammed 360?

-

Kern Dog

Build your car to handle.
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have no experience with the 318s and 360s once they were fitted with roller cams and lifters. I have even less experience with the Magnum series engines.
A friend may be willing to part with an '89 360 that had a roller cam but he swapped in a hydraulic flat tappet setup in it.
I'd like to use it but put a roller setup back in place for the reduced risk of cam and lifter failures. I thought I heard that these engines had no provision to drive a mechanical fuel pump.
I like mechanical pumps and would want to use one. What needs to be done to allow this? The eccentric on the end of the cam usually fits over the cam sprocket with a Woodruff key to index it. I thought the roller cams were not grooved for that Woodruff key.

here you are sir.

ETA: idk why the link didn't resolve, but it's a spacer specifically designed for the roller cam snout and the eccentric from hughes.

second edit: there's long snout roller cams that *do* have the provision for a pump eccentric. these are typically in the early roller motors and won't fit with the magnum front cover. so basically what i'm saying is open it up and have a look see before splashing 60 bones on something ya don't need.

Make sure the cam you use has the rocker shaft oil feed holes drilled in the #4(?) cam journal as well. Magnum cams do not have these holes.