Milled heads? what spark plugs?

-

63dartman

Reaction score
I never thought much about where my plugs are sitting in the head after I milled my heads. Now I'm talking about alot of milling. My j-heads cc'ed at 49 so you know there was a bunch taken off. My question is since the heads were milled so much should I be concerned about spark plug depth in the hole. I just thought about this and common sense tells me that I may need to run a plug that doesn't sit down in the hole as much. I may be thinking this all wrong. I just think my plugs may be shrouded or something to that effect, I have no experience or clue about proper sparkplug placement in the head so any help would be greatly appreciated. Where can I get a chart that would tell me the difference between plug depths?

63dartman,
The plugs only change by heat range and either a extended tip or a retracted tip. Generally milling the heads will only change the amount of timing that the engine can run and or make you run higher octane fuels due to compression ratio changing. As for the actual depth of the plug changing, it should be in the same place as the plug sealing washer is sitting in the same place and can only go so far. Milling the heads doesnt change the plug depth. If the tip is hitting the dome of the piston then a retracted tip plug is in order.

Most plug applications books have the differences in the back of the catalogs and a cross reference for changing tip locations and keeping the same heat range. Go to a parts store that still has catalogs and look in them and get the plug that you want or need.

thanks BJR, So everything I've read about heat ranges is true. In effect when I moved my plug closer to the piston from the milling didn't I also change the heat range? I'm just thinking I should be running a colder plug to make up the difference of the milling. Am I thinking this right?