Mr. Heater Gas Valve Problem

-

SpeedThrills

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
I have a Model No. MH25NG Item No. F272200 Mr. Heater in my garage. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00006L7UZ/?tag=fabo03-20
I installed it about 10 or 12 years ago, and it's been fine until the last coule of years. The gas valve needs a tap on the side for it to operate.

This link says it's discontinued. VS820A1039 by HONEYWELL - Buy or Repair at Radwell - Radwell.com Searching shows other valves that will possibly interchange? Some cost more than a new heater. ($300 ish)

Can a gas valve be repaired? Is it sticking or? I've never worked on one.

I'm a capable mechanic. I just don't want to blow up my garage. :rolleyes:

I would see if there are any qualified repair shops that can rebuild the valve. Personally, I wouldn't want to chance rebuilding it on my own. There is too much at stake.

No help here but curious what you do. I have a Mr Heater 45K btu NG. I bought the LP conversion kit at the time. I wonder if a conversion kit for yours would "fix" it? Of course you then run off propane .

YOU CAN NOT repair combination gas valves. It is not "code" there are no parts available, and there is no repair information. PERIOD.

Found this

Honeywell VS820A1088 Millivolt Combination Gas Valve

OP what is wrong with the heater/ valve? That is what is known as a "millivolt" or "self powered system

SOME STUFF!!!

HOW THEY WORK A thermopile gas valve does several functions all in one big box
1...There is a pilot tap-off and on most newer valves, the pilot is shut off "safe" in the even of a flame failure which allows the thermopile to cool. In any evet cooling of the thermopile due to loss of flame requires 100% shut off of AT LEAST the main gas supply.......with NO leak