need help with upgrading my 8 1/4 rear end.!

-

Tduff01

Reaction score
Thanks in advance for any help. This will be my first rear end work I have done and I need help upgrading my 8 1/4 rear end. 1972 Duster was a slant six and now putting in a 340. I know every loves the 8 3/4 rears but my 8 1 /4 is already in the car and I've heard and seen a lot of people running the 8 1/4. It's only going to by street cruising and car shows and having some fun. Probably no drags. I just don't know where or what to get the stuff to upgrade this rear end. Anything will help from where to get the stuff and what all to get and gear ratio? I'm pretty new to choosing gears and all that. Thank you so much for any help or links for place to get stuff from.

Well, the gear ratio should compliment the cam, converter and suite the driving needs and style of the intended purpose of the car and its driver.

Knowing what camshaft you have is a start and the intended purpose would be a great help in suggesting a gear ratio.
More driver than strip is a good description. It just leaves a little in the table for a decent suggestion.

On the rear itself, a brand new center section in a sure grip is the best start.
Following it up with stronger axles is your call. Stock axles will take 400hp all day long, all night long & into the morning.

I do believe in the past I have seen rear covers with a bolt set up that contacts the rear ends cap bolts to help stop flexing within. I think this is an extreme measure to go with and is a sign of maybe that person should have upgraded the rear end instead.

Summit racing, Jegs, Manciniracing.

Thank you. I will know cam info next week when we start the rebuild and order parts.