Need some help !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

-

duster360

Reaction score
I have a fresh 340 engine. The pistons ( all 8 ) have some oil on top of them. Spark plugs are the same. All eight cylinders are firing. There is oil at the ends of the intake runners where they meet the intake gaskets. There is also oil residue on top of all the intake valves. The block was square decked and the intake was milled to match. I did a degree check on the block and heads, also the intake and they both come up at 48*. I did a leakdown test, several times, with a couple different type gauge setups to be sure I was doing it correctly. All cylinders are in the 3% to 4% leakdown with 90 psi of air pressure. The engine was stone cold during the leakdown test. The Edelbrock intake gaskets seem to be sealing on the intake side ( gaskets seem to be stuck to intake all the way across ), but I can't tell if they were sealing on the head side. I can see that there is oil soaked into the gaskets all the way around the ports. I will add pictures shortly.

What heads? What end seals were used?

BTW, angle checks need to have a very good precision to be good; just 1/4 degree off corresponds to a .010" sloping gap across a 2" flange.

Was the intake retorqued after initial warm up? (after the engine was warmed, then cooled down)

What heads? What end seals were used?

BTW, angle checks need to have a very good precision to be good; just 1/4 degree off corresponds to a .010" sloping gap across a 2" flange.

Edelbrock heads. I used blue rtv for the china walls. The dowel pins have been removed from the china walls and there is plenty of gap between the intake and china walls.

Was the intake retorqued after initial warm up? (after the engine was warmed, then cooled down)

Did not retorque them. It only has about an hour of run time. The bolts were still tight when removed.

Sounds like it didn't seal well, at least that's my hope for you.

Was there any pooling of oil on top of the intake?