New member, new to A-bodies!

-

butterball

Banned
Reaction score
Well, not that new to A-bodies, as I owned a '73 340 Duster in the 80's.

However, I've been fooling with C-body cars for the last several years, and actually had a lot of parts needed to put my project together. I have a '69 Chrysler 300 2-door that I was planning on putting an Eddy-head 500 stroker in (motor is finished except for final assembly.) I even had; until 2 weeks ago when I sold it; a '69 B-body Dana 60 built for it. I overkilled on the bottom end of the motor (for street use, anyway) with billet crossbolted mains and Eagle rods, mainly in order to put a 150 shot on top of the motor in order to get the car into the 11 second range.

Then I got looking at that 18 feet of sheetmetal, 4250 POUNDS of it, and thought "man, what're you doing!"

So now I'm going A-body. Specifically a 69 Fastback Cuda. Only problem is that the 600 HP 11:1 500 stroker that I've built will now probably be too quick in an A-body, requiring a narrowed rear, full rollcage, etc. etc., all stuff that I don't really want to do for just a quick (high 11's, no cage) street car.

The car I'm starting with already has some goodies on it. Stainless Steel Brakes front brakes, big B-body rear brakes, front end rebuilt, new SS springs, 3.91 SG 8-3/4, Schumacher step headers, 727 with a Cheetah RVP valve body, Aluminum radiator, Schumacher big block mounts and torque strap, etc. It's a decent car with a lot of extra parts, the guy had a stock '68 383 in it, it started overheating so he pulled it.

Anyway, I hope I don't drive y'all nuts asking questions once I start working on it, there's a lot of difference between these cars and a "C-boat!"

I'll be seein' you around! Butterball

Welcome aboard Butterball, ask away, the people here love to reply to posts.
Let me be the first to ask, any pics?

Welcome aboard from a fellow '69 Fastback owner. Your combo even sounds very similar to my intended build...