No Compression

-

67/6barracuda

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I have been trying to get a slant six that has not started in 13yrs from last time registered 99' it has spark and fuel but no compression. I got O readings from three out of the four cylinders and 30 psi out of #6 stop checking after that. So my question is if its not reading anything it must be that the head gasket is gone right? I would think that piston rings wouldn't be worn that bad what do you guys think?

denis

So i guess I should pull the valve cover and see whats going on in there? this is my first project so not really sure. would the motor still turn over with valves stuck? What should I look for? when I pull the cover

Hello,
I have been trying to get a slant six that has not started in 13yrs from last time registered 99' it has spark and fuel but no compression. I got O readings from three out of the four cylinders and 30 psi out of #6 stop checking after that. So my question is if its not reading anything it must be that the head gasket is gone right? I would think that piston rings wouldn't be worn that bad what do you guys think?

denis
I think stuck valves also. On my slant, there was a bit of fuel that dripped into the manifold and onto the valves. The gas got old and hard and froze the valves. I had to use a hammer to get them out even after I had pulled the head. One thing that will work to loosen them is model airplane dope thinner available at good hobby shops. Either Pactra, or Brodak.

Could be a lot of things, you know "why it was parked?"

Could indeed be head/ gasket problems

Could be stuck bent or burnt valves

Could be rust in the cylinders / rings/ valves AKA a combination of problems.

Very first thing I'd try is to squirt a little oil down each plug hole and re-test compression