Paint 911. Used wrong activator.

-

Badart

Reaction score
I feel really stupid, but I am going to blame it on the beer. :munky2: I started shooting my first coat of Epoxy Primer on the Fury this evening. I picked up the urethane catalyst by mistake and used it. Luckily I only painted one side of the car and knew something wasn't right, because it wasn't drying. It has been 3 hours now and the primer is still tacky. What the hell do I do? I guess I will see in the morning. Don't drink and paint.

You will need to get some gloves on and wipe it all off with lacer thinner. It will never harden correctly and even if it does dry it will never right to paint or primer over.

I have done stuff like that before...SOBER,so dont feel bad,I was in a hurry and forgot wrong type of reducer in my base.Thankfully,it was only a door a fender and was able to use wax & grease remover to wipe it off.If its hot enough tomorrow,put it out in the sun and see if that speeds it up.If its only one side and one coat,it should be easy to sand off.If its still not dry,use thinner to wipe it off ,but be careful with thinner on bodywork,it will soften the body filler.Dont worry,we all screw up

Wiping it off will make a nasty mess. I would let it dry.. it will in time. Then block it all off again and re spray it.

What really sucks it I worked about 3 days to get the side of the car lazer straight.

Wiping it off will make a nasty mess. I would let it dry.. it will in time. Then block it all off again and re spray it.
Yeah,i agree ,wiping it will be messy ,and smelly,and in the sun it will dry much faster and carefully block sand it off with a straight block.As long as you use a straight block and are careful,you wont mess up the body work :thumblef: