Pneumatic Belt File Sander - Which One?

-

PROSTOCKTOM

FABO Gold Member
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Thinking I need one of these, but not sure what to buy.

At the moment all I need it for is touching up some fiberglass where nothing I have can reach in the proper orientation.

What's your take on them?

Thanks,
Tom

1728534753275.png

Tom, @67Dart440GT is a professional body man by trade and I know that's one of his favorite tools. I tagged him so maybe he will chime in. Colin, you out there?

My brother is a body tech as well and swears by the one at harbor freight. He said it's well worth the money for an everyday tool so I bought one. It works well. It's the 1/2" x 18" Baxter.

The belts from harbor freight don't last that long. He uses the 3m cubritron 2 belts.

Carl

Last edited:
Have a couple work great for harder to reach areas and for smaller intricate locations. I seen some videos they use them to grind out spot welds as well haven’t tried that yet.

Really great for spot welds and dressing up welds, have one from Snap-On and one from harbor freight. Hardley any difference in performance

I bought one from Princess Auto(Cdn Harbour Freight), actually bought 2 of them for grinding welds down on the 69. Worked great. If it's an "oddball" make, make sure to get a mittful of belts while you can. I've since sold the 69 a few years back and still use it occasionally. Worth the $30 I paid. Get it. Only complaint/***** is that it is actually loud/annoying.

Last edited:
I have the corded electrical one from Eastwood. It works well and is very handy for a lot of stuff that is hard to reach with a disc. The Eastwood and HF belts are crap and don't last. I wouldn't say this one is that great from a quality build standpoint but it was cheap enough that I put up with it.