port matching the intake manifold?

-

daves66valiant

68 Dart 340/727:66 Signet Vert 340/5spd: 68 D100
Reaction score
Sorry if this is a lame question. I searched the site before posting.
I have a set of fully ported 340 J heads. There is a 3mm difference between the cylinder head ports (25mm wide) and the intake manifold ports (22mm). The heads look like they are gasket matched. I'm wondering if I should gasket match the intake manifold to the same width as the cylinder heads? Just wondering if this is typically done with heads that have been fully ported. I would think that there would less turbulent flow of air into the heads. Therefore, better flow and performance?
If so, what's the best tool for the aluminum manifold? Dremel, air tool? I have never done this before

thanks

47b6cf04b3127cce8f2bbe748a0700000016100AYs27Ji3ZsmPg.jpg

47b6cf04b3127cce8f2bbe610b2200000016100AYs27Ji3ZsmPg.jpg

You probably won't see any HP/torque difference with an intake manifold port that is slighty smaller (3mm) than the intake runner on the head side. Now if it was the other way around, you would have flow turbulence and lose HP/torque. If you do make the ports line-up perfectly, it will only be "eye-wash", unless you enlarge the port runner all the way up to the plenum. I'd leave such a small step alone.

I recall in the "old days" early 80's when folks ask about using a Holley intake which has small size 318 ports on a 340 motor the tech guys at Hot Rod and Car Craft said its fine. In fact they said its better to have a smaller intake manifold port than the head. Something about being able to run a big cam and the smaller ports would help stop the air from coming out of the cylinder at slow rpm's so you can run a bigger cam. Yes I leave it alone.