Replacing spark plug wires

-

customduster73

Custom73
Reaction score
So I'm new to the engine maintenance. My cool wire was recently not attached properly and has burnt through the connector. So I'm trying to replace the whole set. Recently purchased new msd 2 coil and have no idea what size wires I should get. Msd says to use theirs and that is 8.5 mm for 318 la duster. Does the size matter in wire replacement? I'm stuck here and need help

So I'm new to the engine maintenance. My cool wire was recently not attached properly and has burnt through the connector. So I'm trying to replace the whole set. Recently purchased new msd 2 coil and have no idea what size wires I should get. Msd says to use theirs and that is 8.5 mm for 318 la duster. Does the size matter in wire replacement? I'm stuck here and need help

Yes, size matters....(LOL) but the 8.5mm should be just fine.

Jeff

Do you have any insight on if I should also get an msd distributor and replace the one that's currently on it? I'm at work so I couldn't even tell you what it is. I'm learning as I go really

image.png

Do you have any insight on if I should also get an msd distributor and replace the one that's currently on it? I'm at work so I couldn't even tell you what it is. I'm learning as I go really

View attachment 1714920265

If your current one works - I'd leave it. MSD isn't exactly cheap.
Also depends on what you're trying to accomplish.....?

Jeff

if it works, why replace it?

the one thing you need to look for is to make sure the wires you buy have the correct plugs on them (as in male or female)

If your current one works - I'd leave it. MSD isn't exactly cheap.
Also depends on what you're trying to accomplish.....?

Jeff

Not much just keep it running so I can start on the body and interior which I know how to do. Also I know u can't get too much out of a 318

you can get plenty out of a 318...provided you are willing to put something into it