Replacing steering column on 66 Dart - questions

-

66DartConvert

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm replacing the steering column on my 66 Dart 270 Convertible and want to make sure I do it right. Looks to be a fairly simple job, but I've never done it before. A couple questions...
1. Should I lube anything while I'm at it and if so how/where?
2. There is a square-ish box near the end of the column that looks to be lube related. What is it and what is it lubing?
3. To center the steering wheel it looks like I need to slide the steering column onto the shaft of the steering gear in the proper position. Are there any other ways to center the steering wheel (I'm thinking not)?
Thanks!

There is a bearing under the steering wheel that could be lubed, you have to remove the 'wheel and horn parts to access it. The coupler at the steering box has light grease in it. You can find a kit which has the parts necessary to rebuild the coupler, found a kit on ebay. You must supply the grease. There is a master spline on the steering box input shaft, so you can't move it there to center your steering wheel. Centering the 'wheel is kinda a pain, because you have to get the front tires pointing straight ahead before you install the steering wheel. How's the alignment? Would be good to have that right before straightening the 'wheel.

It looks like both ends of the column have a master spline -- where steering wheel attaches and where end of shaft connects to steering box. Now I'm not sure how to center the steering wheel. I guess alignment is only way?