Response to FBO Springs

-

cuda66273

Reaction score
I guess I posted too much, lets try again

Totally agree !
Hey it's a learning process. You have to try things and see what works. I'm still learning. Here's My 2 Cents.

IMHO, Before you get to the springs,
if you had your dist. set up by him, take the initial timing spec. and the vacuum timing spec. that he gave you, and add them together.

Initial timing is always set with NO Vac Connected, the idle timing (initial) plus the Mechanical timing will give you your total UNDER LOAD. When the engine is under load there is no manifold vacuum so there is no Vacuum timing.

Performance engines should always be Power Timed with a dial back timing light the total timing is the most critical. Set the light at 34* then bring the RPM up to just above the all in number your looking for and set the distributor timing to read "Zero" where it falls down to is what you have for Idle timing. If your using our plate it should be dead on, if not then you need to double check to be sure the RPM was high enough to fully advance the weights.

Set your initial there.
See if your starter kicks back, just like the book says and it's what Crackedback always says to do.
I don't know what motor you have for a total? But Don't drive your car until you Reset your mechanical, using your plate. Take your initial plus the mechanical you set it to, to get a total. A total for a 340 is near 35 degrees. Say 35 - [12 + 12] = 11 degrees mechanical.
Hook up the dist. to ported vacuum, forget the manifold vacuum just plug the port on your carb., and use your allen wrench adjustment, [in the vac can] for when it is to come in, [ at what vacuum]. Test, it should be about 50 degrees of timing with the vac can, for your Grand Total. Still thinking for a 340.

You need to understand how Ported Vacuum works....