Resto Cluster Gauges Inoperable!

Mopar General Discussions

  1. QuickDart360

    QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    425
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Local Time:
    12:03 AM
    I removed my old but functional cluster. However, speedo not working just odometer. So looked for new speedo and is about 340 to 370 bucks! So ran across a restored cluster from Mr heaterbox out of Canada. Cluster comes refurbished with new circuit board, voltage limiter and restored and calibrated gauges. Install it and only speedo works! What can be wrong if all is renewed!?
     
  2. QuickDart360

    QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    425
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Local Time:
    12:03 AM
    Please folks shed me some light. May just use speedo with old cluster that was working. But really want to take advantage of new unit.
     
  3. RustyRatRod

    RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    61,996
    Likes Received:
    34202
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Georgia
    Local Time:
    1:03 AM
    Is it properly grounded?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • 1969383S

      1969383S FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      5,665
      Likes Received:
      2664
      Joined:
      Jan 8, 2012
      Location:
      Cumming, GA.
      Local Time:
      1:03 AM
      That is a huge opened ended question, sorry! Perhaps knowing all the issues you faced prior would be a good start before finding the need to replace it all.
       
    • QuickDart360

      QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,177
      Likes Received:
      425
      Joined:
      Apr 5, 2014
      Location:
      San Antonio
      Local Time:
      12:03 AM
      Ground is the 3 lower screws to dash? Or is there another ground somwhere? Installed like old cluster was and old one works good.
       
    • QuickDart360

      QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      1,177
      Likes Received:
      425
      Joined:
      Apr 5, 2014
      Location:
      San Antonio
      Local Time:
      12:03 AM
      Well before only faulty item was speedo which is 100% mechanical. My old cluster and guages were working just fine. This new cluster is dead @ the gauges. Not one is working! So I'm stumped.:(
       
    • 1969383S

      1969383S FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      5,665
      Likes Received:
      2664
      Joined:
      Jan 8, 2012
      Location:
      Cumming, GA.
      Local Time:
      1:03 AM
      Normal ground is though the connection to the metal dash. Augmented ground sometimes is needed. why? A new shiny dash?
       
      • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
      • QuickDart360

        QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        1,177
        Likes Received:
        425
        Joined:
        Apr 5, 2014
        Location:
        San Antonio
        Local Time:
        12:03 AM
        Good you mention new shiny cluster! Old cluster I had sanded the tabs to dash and dash too. New did not. Also wonder if new style circuit board (green color now) is a good part or not so great?
         
      • RustyRatRod

        RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        61,996
        Likes Received:
        34202
        Joined:
        Jun 7, 2010
        Location:
        Georgia
        Local Time:
        1:03 AM
        Not a "very good" ground. I would run like a 8ga from the metal cluster frame to a good ground on the dash somewhere.
         
      • Dana67Dart

        Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        4,642
        Likes Received:
        2832
        Joined:
        Jul 16, 2017
        Location:
        Northern Colorado
        Local Time:
        11:03 PM
        To test you could use an alligator clip a go from referbed dash to clean bare metal body part.

        Have you contacted the reman co?

        You can also bench test the cluster.
         
      • RustyRatRod

        RustyRatRod Bla de blizhibliz de blatde blizi bla bla FABO Gold Member

        Messages:
        61,996
        Likes Received:
        34202
        Joined:
        Jun 7, 2010
        Location:
        Georgia
        Local Time:
        1:03 AM
        I guess just give up on it and throw it away. Damn man. A ground wire takes ten minutes to run. Ten minutes. If it doesn't work then, you got a problem.
         
        • Agree Agree x 1
        • 1969383S

          1969383S FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

          Messages:
          5,665
          Likes Received:
          2664
          Joined:
          Jan 8, 2012
          Location:
          Cumming, GA.
          Local Time:
          1:03 AM
          The circuit board color is not an issue for you.

          Take a deep breath and get out the meter!
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • Dana67Dart

            Dana67Dart Like a fine wine, only getting better with age! FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            4,642
            Likes Received:
            2832
            Joined:
            Jul 16, 2017
            Location:
            Northern Colorado
            Local Time:
            11:03 PM
            How about some photos
             
          • beanhead

            beanhead Well-Known Member

            Messages:
            125
            Likes Received:
            151
            Joined:
            May 21, 2017
            Location:
            wackyfornia
            Local Time:
            10:03 PM
            Seeing as how the speedo-meter is mechanical and is all that works, for sure indicates an electrical problem. Yes verify you have a good ground. Do the cluster lights work? The gauges themselves ground through their respective sending units. Did they 'forget' to plug the limiter in?

            This is from a Charger, but I think most of our old dogs had this setup--the part in front of the right arrow needs to be firmly pressed into slots on the board. The cylindrical one on the left just gets strapped down as shown: charger gauge cluster.jpg
            You might check the pins and sockets for the main connector plug too, sometimes they get loose or break off when you plug/unplug it.



            Rusty: "Hey guys, howdya like the Hemi in my new avatar?"
            The guys: "What Hemi?!" :p
             
            Last edited: Jun 9, 2020
            • Like Like x 1
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • RedFish

              RedFish Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              24,292
              Likes Received:
              2881
              Joined:
              Sep 5, 2007
              Local Time:
              12:03 AM
              How about a single candle light from you. what the heck you working on? Pictures of both removed and replacement would help. Some panels had 2 switched hot wires, a blue with white tracer (served limiter only) and a black. In later models the blue with white was deleted, black served all. So circuit boards need to be identical in circuitry. Ink color varies with mfgr. and is not a factor.
               
            • QuickDart360

              QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              1,177
              Likes Received:
              425
              Joined:
              Apr 5, 2014
              Location:
              San Antonio
              Local Time:
              12:03 AM
              1974 dodge dart sport 360.
               
            • RedFish

              RedFish Well-Known Member

              Messages:
              24,292
              Likes Received:
              2881
              Joined:
              Sep 5, 2007
              Local Time:
              12:03 AM
              OK, I think oil warning lamp, park rake lamp, and limiter are all on the same 12 volt switched supply. Without wiring diagrams I can't say is this supply fused or not.
              Gauges wouldn't be tested or calibrated mounted in the housing. The new replacement limiter probably was never tested either. A new reproduction circuit board and limiter should work but... maybe not.
              If those 2 warning lamps work you do have 12 volts going to the limiter. If illumination, turn indicator, and hi beam bulbs work, you have chassis ground. Fault would have to be right at the limiter, the limiter itself or those springy female clips that are supposed to link its male terminals to the circuit board. i know some of these new boards have shorter pins for harness connectors. I don't know about the quality of their female terminals under the limiter.
               
              • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
              • QuickDart360

                QuickDart360 Well-Known Member

                Messages:
                1,177
                Likes Received:
                425
                Joined:
                Apr 5, 2014
                Location:
                San Antonio
                Local Time:
                12:03 AM
                Will make some time to have a look.
                 
              1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.