sheet metal/paint technique question

-

Stepper

Reaction score
I'm planning to begin some (I think) simple sheet metal and rust repair on my 69 Dart. I've never done it before, but an feverishly reading and soaking up all the information and technical know-how that I can before I begin.

In the end, I'll plan to have the car professionally gone over and painted. But, I hoping I can cut down on the end cost by doing some of the grunt work on my own. Which leads me to this post.

If I repair a section, for instance either patch in sheet metal or simply just work out a dent and apply body filler, is there any long term negative impact to me using some sort of a spray can primer over the repaired area?

I know enough that bare metal shouldn't be left exposed. However, I won't be able to get the entire car squared away and repainted in a short period. I'll have to repair small projects here and there over time. So, I'm wondering if I can work on a small area and protect it with a spray can primer. I don't have an air compressor to shoot primer.

And finally, do you guys recommend a particular brand of body filler and primer?

Again, thanks. You guys are always great for this stuff.
Stepper

As far as the filler goes I would use a light weight filler just because it is much easier to work with than the bondo stuff that you find at autozone. You can pick it up at any automotive paint supply store. As far as the rattle can primer goes, duplicolor makes an etching primer in a can. I would use that over bare metal and filler, because it bonds really well to it and gives you a good foundation to work from. Then I would just spray over that with a duplicolor primer sealer until the car is ready to be scuffed and painted.

LOL. Look at mine. It is about 4 different colors of primer. I plan on doing the paint next spring, but I like to drive until that day comes.

ride3.jpg

ride4.jpg