Small block HD engine

-

Larry Hutchens

Reaction score
Previously I had posted a tread asking about some specs on a Dodge HD 360 engine w/ exhaust valve rotors. Appreciate all the help & will probably join a forum for Dodge motor homes as suggested by one member. I'm listing some hard learned info on that type cylinder head in case someone needs to use them on an A body project or gets roped into helping a buddy, relative, or neighbor build one of these engines. I started to do this previously but was rudely interrupted by a power outage that shut down my computer system. Then got busy finishing up my engine & installing it in the van. First things first. Some suggested that I was being a bit picky on stuff. May be but I have had some engine failures due to poorly made products & bad machine work. A bit gun shy at this point. My regular cylinder head guy has retired so I'm having to try a new one with whom I have no experience. The retired person specialized in cylinder heads & I was familiar w/ his work, always good. New guy an unknown. I checked his 3 angle job by putting dykem one the seats & doing a light lapping in of the valves to check position of the seat contact w/ the valve & the width of the valve seat. All OK. Then checked the valve stem height & they were all OK as well. Good job. Unless you have a machine shop that you absolutely trust it is best to check things & clean prior to assembly. Anyone can have a bad day. Other factors: making mistakes. not properly trained, person is simply lazy, not familiar w/ MoPars (works mainly on Chevys & Fords). Better safe than sorry. Here are some hard learned specs that I managed to obtain. This is relative to the HD heads w/ ex valve rotors. 1) Installed valve stem height 1.907"- 1.937". 1.922" nominal. Both intake & ex. 2) Valve spring free length Intake 2.000", ex 1.810". 3) Valve spring installed height: Intake 1.625" - 1.688". 1.6565" nominal. Exhaust: 1.453" - 1.516". 1.484" nominal. This info comes from Mi