Top End Not Getting Oil (360 LA)

-

Peter J Boncella

Reaction score
I jumped my starter relay to spin the engine over with the starter to prime my oil systems, and after a while I didn't see any oil getting to my rockers. I know I have oil pressure because I forgot to put in the sensor and got oil all over my floor. Do I just need to keep spinning it over some more? what are some common issues that I should check for? thanks

Did you just put this together? If so, do you have the rocker shafts oriented correctly?

Did you just put this together? If so, do you have the rocker arms oriented correctly?
I did just put it together What do you mean oriented correctly? the oil holes on the shaft are pointed down. Is there like a left and right or something? This is the first motor i've built so im a newbie

The notch on the end of the "older" la rocker arm shaft go to the left and down as you are standing at the side of the engine.

In addition to the above, the oil to the top end ONLY happens as the cam briefly aligns it's oil holes with the passages in the block coming up to the heads. if you did not crank it enough, the oil won't have time to get there. Easiest way is to prime pump with a drill, and slowly turn engine with wrench until you get oil holes aligned/ oil up top. SOMEWHERE on this board, folks have published rotational degrees of crank at which this happens

If you can NOT prime pump with a drill and shaft, I would REMOVE the rockers and plugs so that you are not impacting the lifters with high pressure springs and crank on the starter until you get oil up top

Is there like a left and right or something?

There is a notch on one end of each shaft. That notch needs to be forward toward core support and facing down on the driver side. The notch needs to be in the rear toward the firewall and facing down on the passenger side.

Check there and report back.

shaftheasd shot.jpg