What is making this sound?

-

67fish383S

Reaction score
I'm a noob, so I apologize if this is a silly question...Today I took my new-to-me '67 Barracuda FB FS 383 4 speed for our longest drive yet on one of the hottest days so far (90+), and when I got back, it was making this weird hissing, sizzling sound under the hood. I captured it as best I could with my phone:

I could not see any liquid being ejected anywhere on the hot block. It almost sounded like fuel boiling in the carb. I opened the air cleaner and nothing looked amiss and the sound didn't change. It subsided after a couple of minutes. Was she jut pissed at me for driving her on a stupid hot day?

I couldnt see if you had AC or not?
Almost sounded like the AC stabilizing.
Def sounds like a liquid pressuring off internally.
If upper radiator hose was stiff, maybe antifreeze pressuring off somewhere in water pump or past the thermostat area.
How was your dash temp reading?

I couldnt see if you had AC or not?
Almost sounded like the AC stabilizing.
Def sounds like a liquid pressuring off internally.
If upper radiator hose was stiff, maybe antifreeze pressuring off somewhere in water pump or past the thermostat area.
How was your dash temp reading?
No AC. Temp was normal during the drive. Coolant coming out of the overflow was the first thing I looked for. Never experienced a noise like that with no obvious cause. It sounded external, but I couldn't see anything. Thanks

Get a piece of gas line hose or the like, stick it up to your ear and find out where the source is.

Dennis,
My 383 made similar sounds before it overflowed. I suspect your antifreeze was past the boiling point. Remember, water boils at 212°, but the radiator cap compresses that so it actually can get above that temp before the spring under the cap allows it to overflow.