You help one neighbour with their car and it snowballs.

-

Woodys_Cuda

Ontario, Canada
Reaction score
I'm lucky to have a neighbour that is an automotive engineer. He started out by helping me with a car issue and now most of his spare time (and mine) is going to helping our neighbours. We live in a townhouse complex so everybody knows everybody. Brake jobs are the most common jobs we get from neighbours of course. My neighbour ( and friend) helps people for free but it's nonstop for us now. Luckily he does most of the work because of my age.

So the question is does this happen to any of you that are not in business?

Oh yeah. People at church are constantly asking me car questions, a little less often for actual repairs though. I'm happy to help when I can, but I make it clear that I'm not a mechanic, I only do it as a hobby.

Oh yeah. People at church are constantly asking me car questions, a little less often for actual repairs though. I'm happy to help when I can, but I make it clear that I'm not a mechanic, I only do it as a hobby.
Yeah I hear ya. Just yesterday while working on my car a lady neighbour called my friend away. He spent a bout 15 minutes looking at her little problems. I just walked away and took a break *sigh*. He has a hard time saying no and I warn him about taking on too much but he's just a nice guy.

yes; but I charge cash.
to all but my family. I have three married with children kids plus their; parade of cars, recreational vehicles, lawnNgarden equipment, carpentry, electrical, plumbing, drywall repairs, painting, renos, appliance repair, bicycles; you name it....
Then, when I can fit them in, neighbors and friends.
I recently turned 71; retired for, going on 1 year now. Busy, busy, busy.

yes; but I charge cash