2K paint over 1K opinions please

-

clementine

Flight risk
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Co-worker bunged up his door (Audi A4 quattro) on a post in parking lot. Wanted to spend his money on materials and an education instead of body shop. My first mistake was to have him order paint. Moving forward we cleaned sanded and prepped for a skim coat of filler. Looked pretty good. sprayed the primer/base/clear in 1K spray bomb form and everything is gucci........but it is slightly the wrong color. So, I want to get a 2K version of the paint using the paint code mixed at Wesco down the street and again use some 2K clear to finish...wet sand/buff....all that.

Can I cover the 1K with the 2K?

How far do I have to scuff sand?

This is not a show car. This is a get er done......but want to match the paint better than what it is.

Thanks FABO!!!

20221007_110400.jpg

20221007_100025.jpg

20221007_102056.jpg

Last edited:
Im not a professional,or a good amateur. I am an internet know it all so here goes.
If the paint you already put on is one of those spray bombs that have a hardener I would scuff with 400 and spray with something else that hopefully matches.
If it was catalyzed spray bomb i would sand to primer and start over.
i just dont trust painting over anything that does not have a chemical cure from a hardener.

Maybe @67Dart440GT will chime in. He is a very good professional painter. I'd take his opinion to the bank. I tagged him, so maybe he'll chime in.

i just dont trust painting over anything that does not have a chemical cure from a hardener.
I see your point on this.
Looks like the shine is a big factor. Buff it.
That picture is right after. If it were the correct match I would just run with it and wait 72 hrs and lightly sand and clear it again before the wet sand and buff......just to make sure I had enough to wet sand and buff. that there in the pic is tack coat/ medium/heavy.