1964 Dart Owner - In Over My Head

-

fzromen

Reaction score
So I was driving by this sweet looking 1964 Dodge Dart everyday on my way to and from work that was for sale. Kept telling my wife how much I would love to own an awesome old classic like that.

One day she convinced me to stop and check it out. Next thing I know I'm now the owner of this car.

I'm an accountant by trade and never been very mechanical but I'm willing to do my best. The car is in really good shape and runs great. It's just got a few issues.

None of the gauges work except for the aftermarket tach and the alternator gauge. The tail lights only work as turn signals. I have no parking lights or brake lights. The right passenger window won't roll down. When I put two full size adults in the back seat, the oversized tires on the rear rub their sidewalls on the fenders.

I've got the service manual for the 64 dart and have started working on some of these issues.

Here's my question. I'm having a hard time finding sites that stock parts that are truly for such an old Dart. Any suggestions or tips are appreciated!

First off, Welcome! Congrats on becoming an early A owner. You have the key ingredient required for satisfaction with an old car by stating your willingness to do your best. This site is a great place to find help and to locate parts. Just post your needs or specific requests for help or info. Pictures are a great help and are appreciated.

Here's the ride I'm working with.

So a couple of my concerns that I'm working on at the current time.

Best way to start working through the tail light issue? (I can live with the other wiring and gauge issues for the time being.)

I can't fill the tank up fully because the gasket where the filler neck goes into the tank is weeping when it's full. Is this a simple fix by replacing that gasket? I imagine I can drop the tank slightly to get the tank to slide clear of the filler neck and just replace that gasket?