1972 Demon 4 speed

-

Kraftei

Reaction score
I bought a 72 Demon in the fall, it was a x show car and it was never driven so it came with teething issues. I was not able to test drive the car due to the weather but I did get a 1st gear drive up the block and back. The car was makin a lot of noise, the electric fuel pump was screaming, vibrations and scraping noises.

I have rebuilt the front end, installed new rotors, found lots of issues. Replaced the fuel pump, set the engine up, rebuilt the rear end and put a 373 true trac in. Everywhere I went I found problems so I corrected them. I was a licensed mechanic and have restored a few cars so I have a lot of experience with the older cars.

I am waiting on anti vibration springs for the parking strut so I have not buttoned the rear end up. That's said I ran the car up with just the axles. First gear seemed fine 2,3 and 4th not so happy, some vibration / noises from the transmission / flywheel area (in gear). I cant recall ever having spun up a standard transmission (with no load) so I am curious if it is normal or not to have issues in the higher gears with zero load ? I adjusted the Hurst shifter, one linkage was out a lot.

I did run up the car on the stands (with wheels) before I rebuilt the rear end. 1 and 2 were fine 3 and 4 were clunky at the lower rpms. Now its worse but... this time I ran it up with just the axles (less load). When I get the brake springs I can button it up and retry with some load. Not sure if I will see another test drive before spring. Wondering if I have a problem and I should pull the transmission as I have lots of time now.

This car had a "total" restoration and everything was rebuilt, 90% of the work is good but the 10% not so good. Not many mechanics left that know these cars anymore so I can understand them getting some things wrong, plus not having the time to find obscure parts.. like brake strut springs lol

0B05897A-69DD-4DE3-BBFD-9AFE7A6FCB43.jpeg