1975 Duster Potential Wiring Harness Issue

-

John Mountain

Reaction score
My 1975 Base Duster has had some electrical issues lately that can all be traced to the number 2 fuse on the fuse block. My turn signals don't work, radio doesn't work, windshield wipers don't work. Occasionally they will all start working for a minute or two then go out again.

First thing I did was get some new fuses and replace the number 2 fuse which didn't work, so I swapped it with other fuses to make sure it wasn't a fuse issue. Then I checked the connections on the back of the fuse box to make sure they were good, which they seemed to be.

I'm no expert, and my troubleshooting capabilities have about run out so I've come here for help. I'm really hoping it isn't an issue with a bad ground on the wiring harness because this is my daily driver and I really don't want to tear the dashboard apart.

If you guys have any suggestions, please let me know.

A9153235-82C3-428F-A5F2-A06C927EC536.jpeg

6F31E2ED-8142-46FE-92AB-FBC3E83E347C.jpeg

What is your voltage across the fuse block? One side is a constant hot, the items you listed are on the switched side. Sounds like the ignition switch, but without voltage drop readings, it's a guessing game.

Also dont forget that for most items, your cars sheetmetal is the ground return path. For example, where your wiper switch attaches the metal instrument cluster housing, and the fact that the cluster housing is screwed into the metal dash frame is its ground return. Ditto for the wiper motor. The hardware holding it onto the firewall is the ground return path.

However with what you mentioned that all these things work and then all stop working at the same time points to an ignition switch in the column going bad. See pic below, this is prob the part causing the issue.

Screenshot_20200625-054600_Samsung Internet.jpg

Demonic and Matt have covered the most likely possibility.