273 carb probs!!!

-

rickdick78

Reaction score
Hey guys, anybody have good advice on a good size carb for a 273 with a mild summit 6900 cam? Ive got a 600 cfm edel on there now, and i just feel like its way too big. I cant get it to run right.
Im really wanting an easy driver with good fuel economy more than a power house. Id rather drive it everyday!! Any suggestions??

I think a 600 is about what you want. Maybe the carb needs a tune or rebuild.

Im a Holley guy. If it were my car, I would stick an 1850 on it and call it done.

Hmm what size carb is an 1850? Im almost sure that my prob is a carb tuning prob, im not good at it and it is a very precise adjustment that i am just not that experienced in.
Ive been reading all the archive threads on carb tuning and its spinning my head. Ive read about 5 diffrent techniques that i havent tryed yet.
Any one live in the queens/brklyn area that would be willing to lend a hand to a dedicated beginner???

Hey guys, anybody have good advice on a good size carb for a 273 with a mild summit 6900 cam? Ive got a 600 cfm edel on there now, and i just feel like its way too big. I cant get it to run right.
Im really wanting an easy driver with good fuel economy more than a power house. Id rather drive it everyday!! Any suggestions??

That is the carb you want.
If ya keep yer foot outta it it is economical.
Floor it and it will cost ya! LOL

Anyway, eddy 600, (This is the stock replacement carb) love it for small block mopar. Make sure you use the proper spacer for your intake set up. Yes running a spacer makes a big difference for eddy on mopar.
Check the link for eddy tech videos. VERY helpful!!
http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive_new/misc/tech_center/install/tech_vids.shtml

You could also try going to the fuel section here on FABO;
http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/forumdisplay.php?f=58

Good Luck!
John8)