318 build with XE268 AND 302 heads

-

megavites

Reaction score
Full disclosure...I'm new to Mopars.
I have a 318, good compression that I'm planning on using a set of 302 rebuilt heads.
I'm looking at the Comp cam XE268H.
Comp's website says this needs adjustable valvetrain. I thought I've seen others here run this
cam with the stock rockers.
If this cam needs adjustable rockers, what's a good "afordable" option?
I saw these...DODGE CHRYSLER 318 340 1.5 ADJUSTABLE S. STEEL ROLLER ROCKERS
Stock springs will be used for break in..comp springs for final assembly.

If this is basically stock, you may want to consider the XE262 instead. You are going from .373 and .400 to .474 and .480, so adjustable may be unavoidable with the 268. Comp also says a 2000 converter is ok. Ya need a lil more.

Last edited:
Needing adjustable rockers for the 268 is news to me......
That cam wouldn't be my first choice.

more than stock. Holley 600, dual plane intake and headers, dual 2.5 exhaust.
Looking for the right cam for good low end torque. Just a stop light to stop light car.
I was under the impression that the xe268 was popular with 318's. It has a nice lope as well.
I was also looking at the Huges Whiplash, but the 302 head bring compression up to 9:1. Whiplash wants 8.5 or lower.
I'm open to cam suggestions. Not looking for top end HP, just bottom end torque and nice lope

The 262 is a much better choice if thats the case. When I first installed the XE 268 in my 360, once around the block and I realized The 3.23 was about to be 3.73. And a Coan 2500 converter. That fixed things, and I dont even have the compression you do. In a teener that cam will be a dog off the line. I had a 256/262 Voodoo in previously, that moved well stoplight to stoplight. I'm guessing you have a 904?

Another consideration without too much duration. It wont be lopey, but it will move you when you nail it off the line.
20-210-2 - High Energy™ Hydraulic Flat Tappet Camshafts

Last edited: