318 not a 360 help please!

-

Chryslerkid

Reaction score
Alright guys,

I am a rookie to this game.... I thought I had a 360, but as it turns out, it's just a little 318. The casting numbers are 4387530-31823 in case anyone wants to verify and educate me a little more. I am still going to put this lil engine in my car slant 6 '71 dodge dart swinger. In the mean time, who knows if I have to do anything different when I install the 318 compared to if I was dropping in a 360? Thanks everyone. Any information/help is appreciated.:eek:ops::sign3::blob:

Yeah. You need a small block transmission for starters.

I have the complete drivetrain still intact from engine to yolk. The engine is complete from carburetor to oil pan. That's all I know now. Starting from ground zero....

I have the complete drivetrain still intact from engine to yolk. The engine is complete from carburetor to oil pan. That's all I know now. Starting from ground zero....

So you have the 318 drivetrain?

The two differences between a 318 swap and a 360 swap are the driver side engine bracket and a balanced converter or flex plate for a 360 and neutral balanced converter or flex plate for the 318.

Of course what else that needs to be done to get either motor in your car depends on what your stuff came out of.

Yeah. You need a small block transmission for starters.
Missed that. Aren't they both small block?
There is a tranny difference though, the 360 is "externally balanced" with weights on the torque converter, so you will at least need the torque converter for a 360.
The oil pan is different on a 360, but I assume you have the oil pan.
The motor mounts are different on a 360 (one side only, I recall). Many posts on this, so search.
I assume these are both LA engines. The later Magnum engines - 5.2L and 5.9L - are also called 318 and 360 (which they are), but they differ a bit from LA engines.