318 Timing

-

gold75duster

Reaction score
I have just installed a edelbrock 600 cfm carb and edelbrock intake on a stock 318 75 Duster and am having troubles getting it dialed in.

I am having the car slightly hesitate. It just doesn't seem to be wanting to go like it should.

I tried various timing adjustments and currently have it set at 5 degrees advanced which seems to be were it idles the best. Is anybody running the same or a similar set up that has had better luck with a different timing setting?

I have tried to set the air / fuel mixture but no matter how much I tighten the air / fuel mixture screws on the primaries and secondaries I can't get the motor to stall.

Any ideas? I am at 3500 feet above sea level. Am iI looking at swapping out jets / rods to get this thing to run right.

I am a novice at this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome and good question. I'm sure someone will have the answer.

My eddy on a 273 is running rich, still messin' with it.

Thanks Flatlander.

Another question for anybody out there:

I just took it around the block and it idles at first but misses under load and smokes a lot and sputters on start up (too rich?).

It is equipped with the electronic ignition. Can anybody tell me if it has vacuum at idle or not?

There are two ports on the Edelbrock carb one for distributor advance with vaccum at idle and one without. I have tried both but can't seem to get it sorted out.

I think I am playing with too many variables and need to start eliminating them systematically.

Is is safe to assume that once I figure out the vacuum / no vacuum at idle and get the timing set up propoerly that then I can start trying to adjust the carb?

You will need a timing tape or dial back timing light to check timing and a vacuum gauge and tach to adjust carb.

If the car ran good before you put on the new carb/intake then why did you adjust the timing? Where was it set to and can you set it back to that setting?