340 core $4k?

-

0o7

Reaction score
First let me say that I apologize if this has been brought up before. I couldn't find anything through the search function.
Currently, I'm looking to restore a '68-'70 Dart Swinger 340 or GTS 340. My goal is to try and keep everything as much period correct as possible. I'm exploring the idea of having a 340 built for me to push 400-450 hp. The person I talked to today said that a 340 mopar core, alone, would cost me around $4k :tongue9::tongue9:! Are they getting that hard to find!? I'm a bit new to all this but wow. If anyone could provide any ryhme or reason to this our some suggestions, I would appreciate it.
Thx

Find a new person to talk to. You should be able to find a complete 340 core for around $1000-$1200 or a bare block for $500

Or just use a 360 block and tell everyone its a 340.

I like the way you think Adam - mines a 340 really! actually a 360 but who the hell know's the difference it's a 340 car.... by my books...

First let me say that I apologize if this has been brought up before. I couldn't find anything through the search function.
Currently, I'm looking to restore a '68-'70 Dart Swinger 340 or GTS 340. My goal is to try and keep everything as much period correct as possible. I'm exploring the idea of having a 340 built for me to push 400-450 hp. The person I talked to today said that a 340 mopar core, alone, would cost me around $4k :tongue9::tongue9:! Are they getting that hard to find!? I'm a bit new to all this but wow. If anyone could provide any ryhme or reason to this our some suggestions, I would appreciate it.
Thx

Maybe for a nicely rebuilt 340 (with some nice go-fast stuff on it) but not for a core.

I'm thinking that he means he has automatic(transmissions) and 4 speed bellhousings. But someone could call him.

Chuck

There are better deals, although quite aways away from you this seems like a good buy. If I had the $ it would be in my garage already.