360 block

-

rrvolare

19Swinger69
Reaction score
- what is best year for a stroker build ...
- do LA and Magnum blocks have same motor mount ear locations
- looking for a short block and main caps only...
- standard bore ( no machining performed .
- Prefer one stored inside
- in Michigan area ..

Thanks

I went with a 91 roller 360 I found in an old church van with 70,000 miles. I have never built a roller motor before but there were many benefits to the later engines. This one had reusable oil pan and valve cover gaskets,windage tray,308 heads and is already a roller and has minimal wear in the cylinders.

I went with a 91 roller 360 I found in an old church van with 70,000 miles. I have never built a roller motor before but there were many benefits to the later engines. This one had reusable oil pan and valve cover gaskets,windage tray,308 heads and is already a roller and has minimal wear in the cylinders.
older 360 has thicker walls in them

There is a debate that 1971-74 360's can have cylinder walls that are more thick. These would mostly come from C-bodies and 1974 from A/B/C bodies. Since you were considering a Ritter block, I would ask Mike from MRL, Brian from IMM, Rob/RAMM, or Ryan Johnson from the Shady Dell -they probably have 360 cores already, some of them probably have R1/R3/X/340Reproduction blocks for sale. If you get an older block, obviously get it sonic checked for the power levels that you want. Bloomer has the 4.125 and 4.25" stroke cranks and hughes has the 4.18" crank I believe. Yellowrose was right though, the X and other blocks are popping up on craigslist ( my-craigs-finder.com ) or facebook

The only benefit to a factory roller block is if you are going to run a hydraulic roller. If you are going to run a HFT, SFT or SRT then you don't need the roller block to start with. In fact, you don't even need a roller block to do a hydraulic roller. You can use the other roller lifters. They cost more.