383 Rev Limit question

-

02sixxer

Reaction score
I have a 383 with a few addons and want to know where it sould be reved to. This is my first Big Block and First Mopar.

The engine has a .509 purple shaft hyd cam, with matching lifters, 915 heads stock (i believe), MSD Ignition 6a, Pro Billet Distributor, Team G Intake, 850 Demon carb, Unknow pistons (will find out when I pull the heads), or current compression, previous owner only ran 111 octane so I believe it has a rather high cr.

Next question, with head work what where should it be revved too.

Head work would connsist of new springs (what would be reccomended), 1.6 Roller rockers, I would like to have it machined for larger valves i believe I have the 1.60 exh valves and would like to increase to 1.80, the intake valves are 2.08 how much larger should I go if I go to 1.8 exh. I dont think I will have the money for a port or polish. If so I would just by a pair of edy's.

Thanks for the help as I said this is my first time with Mopar and a Big Block. Right now it runs strong and sounds great. If you need additional info ask and if i know i will answer. Also i think the exhaust migh be a little small it a true dual with a cross over flowmaster delta flow mufflers but only 2.5 inches. I thought it should of been 3".

6,500 wouldn't concern me a bit. The hydraulic lifters will likely be what limits you. Thats plenty of cam in my opinion, so head flow will prolly be what will limit your power. 2.5" exhaust isn't bad, I would prefer the 3" myself. Good luck.

Not having the money for a new set of aluminum heads at this point, and probably not having the money to port the current ones either would you reccomend changing the valves and if so what valve size would you replace the small valves of the 915's with?

I figured that the heads would limit the engine more than anything right now. Far as I know they are stock.