66Valiant conv Opinions Please ! stay true or change motor/more a disabled Vet Asks

-

ibfunru

ibfunru
Reaction score
I have a 66 valiant with the original 273 2brl, runs fine sounds fine smokes badly, 26000 miles showing one past repaint stock ....guys should I keep it true to what it has always been or pull the 273 and keep for some future buyer in a box while I use a new 318, 340, 360 for as long as I own it, I am sure if I did that you all may suggest to get rid of the stock 13 inch tires and hub caps?.....Also I see 2507 made but cannot find out how many were only v8 like mine.....If I do change to a larger motor at what point do I have to then change the trans to a stronger unit and same goes to rear end mods.....This car is as old as me, and being I am a disabled vet it is in better shape than me too (haha) ......does this car deserve to just stay what it has always been - just rebuild the motor and keep it true.....I value your opinions both ways
I owned a 1970 4 door as a 19 year old for 4 years, then a time capsule 67 2 door 3 speed on Column both 6 cyl while in service in South Carolina for 4 years too.....just found this 66

Drive it and update/repair what is there and then make the engine switch or change
A 66 273 early A body would stay that way if it was mine....
Can we take a look at it :happy1:
Heck!! I have had a few folks say V8 mine for almost 5 years now :D

What a great plus to have a V8 66 Valiant :cheers:, I am staying /6 :toothy9:

Attachments

• Picture%20222%20004.jpg
    61.1 KB · Views: 122
Keep the 273 and build it, up the compression a lb and update the exhaust with electronic ignition .. Wow!! Nice for sure, No way would I change the 273 for anything..
Look in to some modes/updates there is for these great 273 and enjoy the drive:burnout: