86 318 build

-

YoungGun74

Reaction score
Im just an 18 year old kid and i got a 86 318 for dirt cheap for my 74 dart. Anybody got any tips on getting power out of it? Any ideas will help a **** ton

First idea, limit curse's.

The 318 can be a real fun engine. I have done several of these little mills with spare parts to full rebuilds. the first issue with the 318 besides the lack of displacement is there low compression. Adding 360 heads for better flow and bigger valves is a good step, but, the large chambers kill what little compression you have. The heads will need to be milled down a good .060.

From here, basic hot rod parts can be installed and added on. The question of the day is, "How much power do you want and/or how fast do you want to go?"

Thanks a lot any info is good to me I know a decent amount but I'm still learning the ropes. Its my daily driver so I wanna go fast but not riduculously fast. I have a new intake with a thermoquad so far but I'm looking for any ideas

Is it a roller cam engine? Some of the '86 318's had roller cams and 302 heads. If that's the case, the 302 heads are a good head to work with. There are a ton of 318 threads on here. Are you doing a full rebuild on it? Or just looking for some bolt on power?

It has 302 heads on it. I'm just looking for some bolt on power. I'm paying for parts with a mcdonalds pay check haha. Its out of an 86 ramcharger so im pretty sure it is a roller motor

When I did my "On the Cheap Duster" project, I used Hooker headers, but the much more inexpensive headers from Summit racing would do well here. Combined with the Summit racing true dual exhaust kit, it is an excellent start to do.

Since you have an intake and a TQ carb, your pretty much set except for a cam. To figure this one out. I would like to know the following;

What intake manifold do you have?
What gear ratio and tire size will the car run when your done.