904 2-3 Shift Flare

-

bobscuda67

Reaction score
I have been fighting a 2-3 shift flare in my 904 for over 5 years now. I have tried just about everything to eliminate it with limited sucess. I think I have it narrowed down to a timing issue and not a leaking clutch or servo problem.

I did a pressure test on it and the pressure seems fine.
It has 80 psi in gear at idle. Full TV valve at idle was 115 psi.
87 psi in gear at 1000 rpm. It has 125 psi in gear at 1600 rpm with full TV pressure.
The 2-3 gear change happens at the same 90 psi on the front servo and the accumulator.
Are these pressure readings what you would expect from a TF-2 kitted valvebody?
I had the front band backed off two turns with a 4.2 lever. It flared badly. So I tightend it to 1 3/8 turns and it is much better, but not perfect. Is this to tight, or can I go more? How tight can you go before the band burns up?
Any help would be appreciated.

I had the same thing and thought the clutches were probably on the way out. Put in that Transgo T-2 kit you talked about and also a deep oil pan with the drain plug and now it shifts ok. Used the metal trans filter with the deeper pan. Was thinking it was just the transmission fluid or drilling out that one hole for 2-3 shift that helped out.

I have been fighting a 2-3 shift flare in my 904 for over 5 years now. I have tried just about everything to eliminate it with limited sucess. I think I have it narrowed down to a timing issue and not a leaking clutch or servo problem.

I did a pressure test on it and the pressure seems fine.
It has 80 psi in gear at idle. Full TV valve at idle was 115 psi.
87 psi in gear at 1000 rpm. It has 125 psi in gear at 1600 rpm with full TV pressure.
The 2-3 gear change happens at the same 90 psi on the front servo and the accumulator.
Are these pressure readings what you would expect from a TF-2 kitted valvebody?