904 question. Please help.

-

Badart

Reaction score
Got a quick question for you. A little history on my 904 behind my fairly mild 318, TF-2 kit, 3000 stall other than that it's stock. The problem that I have is that sometimes when I drive it hard it will piss tranny fluid out of the bellhousing/convertor area and make a big smoke show. I mean it pours out and I leaves a trail down the street then it will just stop leaking. It has only done this 2 times in 350 miles. This 904 came with my basket case dart when I bought it and it shifts great with no slipping at all. It does not leak a drop other than that. Is it leaking around the input seal or is there something else in that area that would leak like this? I replaced the input seal the last time that I had the motor out just because and made sure that I didn't damage the seal when I reinstalled the convertor. The convertor is new and is a Boss hog street bandit. Thanks in advance for your help.

im no expert but just to toss something out there.

with mopars having differances in cranks and torque converters and harmonic balancers being internal and externally balanced.....could oyu have mismatched components? and when it gets to highrevs it goes out of balance enough to shimmy some fluid passed a seal?

doubt thats the case...just and idea

maybe the trans is overfull and it squirting out because of that?

Are you sure it's not leaking from where the dipstick tube goes in to the tranny?

if you think that's weird, my duster pisses tranny fluid all over the driveway (just sitting there not running) when it rains, but doesn't leak a drop any other time.

Most TF's vent into the bellhousing. Just how full is this tranny before you drive it "hard"?

im no expert but just to toss something out there.