Air Compressor Set-up suggestions needed

-

Stepper

Reaction score
I recently purchased a 60 gallon air compressor and will be installing it in my garage. I plan to use it to restore my dart. Therefore, it will be running all of the normal air tools such as DA sander, air chisel, impact wrench etc.

But I also plan to use it to paint the car.

I'm new to setting up this thing and would like suggestions as to how I should configure the system.

From what I've read, I know I'll need a dryer for the line to keep moisture out of the paint. But other than that, I'd like anyone's expertise offered.

For instance, I'd like to know the specifics such as where specifically should I place the dryer....and or filter?
Should the dryer be close to the compressor or closer to the end of the air line?
Is there anything else I need to install in order to make the system work for what my intentions are?

I simply want to install this thing the right way the first time.

Thanks guys

probably not. I plan to move out of the house in a year or so.
At that point I may plumb the garage.

i put a dryer/filter right at the compressor. i also put a shutoff valve right before the dryer (so i can cut the air to the line and drain the dryer.) when i paint i use a totally different air hose(one that is set aside just for painting) and drain the air and moisture out of the compressor. i also buy a disposable dryer to put right at the spray gun to catch the moisture that the other dryer doesnt get. dont settle for a cheap dryer, buy a good one that will get alotof the moisture out.

i can post a pic if wanted

also drain your compressor every so often, the moisture build on the inside can rust the compressor from the inside out.

Ok...so you're suggesting this?:

Compressor--shut off valve--dryer/filter--hose----tool

One thing: Many of these modern cheapoized compressor setups use a multi-port mess for an air manifold, and some are combined with or very close to the compressor pump output.